At Kingsway we provide excellent careers advice and guidance, which is supported by impartial advice from an external careers company. We provide our students with:

  • Support to continue in learning, apprenticeships and employment.
  • Comprehensive information and advice which responds to the needs of each learner.
  • Empowerment to plan and manage their own futures.
  • Careers guidance which informs pupils of local employment needs.
  • High aspirations for what they can achieve in the future.
  • Equality of opportunity and a challenge to stereotypes.
  • Help with their progress to the next stage in their careers.

The careers library contains comprehensive information on further education, higher education, apprenticeships and employment. We have a dedicated member of staff who works closely with colleges, sixth form and employers. Visiting speakers provide students with an insight into the wealth of jobs and opportunities available and raise aspirations.

In Years 7 and 8 students are introduced to careers through a focus on self-awareness of their skills and interests during Life Skills lessons. They are encouraged to research different types of occupations and careers and to consider the qualifications and skills required.

We are supported by Careers Education, an external impartial careers company, and their fully accredited staff in providing students with individual careers interviews. This includes a Careers Action Plan which parents can access via the Connect webpage. A dedicated confidential room in the careers library is used for all our individual careers interviews.

At key points we provide additional and specific support. During the GCSE options in Year 9 students receive advice and guidance through dedicated assemblies, tutor sessions and the Options Evening, as well as, the traditional parents’ evening. Further guidance is provided by a range of employers at the Careers Speed Dating Evening early in Year 9.

In Year 10 every students has their own practice job interview with outside employers. Each student receives an evaluation of their performance and guidance as to their strengths and which areas to address. The Post 16 Evening allows students and parents the opportunity to meet representatives from sixth form colleges, universities, apprenticeship and training providers, and employers. At the end of the year students are able to attend local college taster days.

In Year 11 sixth form schools and colleges have assemblies with all students informing them of what they offer and their application processes. Additional sessions are provided by apprenticeship providers, and this programme is supplemented each year by lunchtime drop-in sessions. During Year 11 students receive individual careers interviews with a qualified impartial careers advisor.

Our careers work is evaluated through student voice, observations and the destinations of our students at the end of Year 11. Furthermore, feedback from employers, colleges and parents is used to help improve our programme.

The next review will be during the summer term 2019.

Careers contact for employers
We are always keen to extend our careers programme. If you are a business or employer and feel you can help provide excellent careers information or opportunities for our students, then please contact the school's careers leader: Mr R Knott, Senior Deputy Headteacher.

College Open Days

All Year 11 students are invited to attend local college Open Days to get more information on their preferred courses and make necessary decisions on which colleges they would be interested in applying to. Students are advised to attend as many college open days as they can in order to compare the courses and facilities on offer.

Please Note: These are the dates and times provided at this time and are very unlikely to change. However in occasional circumstances arrangements for these events can change so please make sure you check on relevant websites.

Aquinas College
Saturday 29th September 2018 10.00am – 1.00pm
Wednesday 10th October 2018 6.30pm – 8.30pm
Thursday 1st November 2018 6:30pm – 8:30pm

Connell College (near to Etihad Stadium)
Saturday 6th October, 10am-1pm
Thursday 15th November, 5pm-7pm

Loreto College
Saturday 6th October 10 – 1pm
Sunday 14th October 10 – 1pm

Macclesfield College
Thursday 18th October 2018 – 5pm until 8pm
Thursday 22nd November 2018 – 5pm until 8pm
Thursday 24th January 2019 – 5pm until 8pm
Thursday 7th March 2019 – (Apprenticeship Careers Event) 2pm until 7pm
Thursday 21st March 2019 – 5pm until 8pm
Saturday 22nd June 2019 – 10am until 1pm

Manchester College
16-18 School Leaver Open Event, Saturday 29th September, 9.30am-1.00pm – Openshaw Campus
A-level Open Evening, Thursday 4th October, 5.00-8.00pm – Shena Simon
16-18 School Leaver Open Evening, Thursday 29th November, 5.00-8.00pm – Harpurhey, Nicholls, Northenden, Openshaw, Shena Simon, Welcomb St, Wythenshawe

Future Skills at MediaCityUK
Tuesday 16th October 5.30 – 7.30pm
Saturday 24th November 10.00am – 12.00 noon
Tuesday 12th March 5.30pm – 7.30pm

Pendleton Sixth Form College
Wednesday 17th October 5.30pm – 7.30pm
Saturday 24th November 10.00am – 12.00 noon
Wednesday 13th March 5.30pm – 7.30pm

Reaseheath College
Saturday 20th October 2018 10.30am
Saturday 17th November 10.30am
Saturday 8th December 10.30am

Salford City College – City Skills
Monday 15th October 5.30pm – 7.30pm
Saturday 24th November 10.00am– 12.00 noon
Monday 11th March 5.30pm – 7.30pm

Stockport College
Wednesday 26th September – 4.30 pm – 8.00 pm
Wednesday 7th November – 4.30 pm – 8.00 pm
Wednesday 6th February – 4.30 pm – 8.00 pm
Wednesday 26th June -4.30 pm – 8.00 pm

The Cheadle College
Wednesday 26 September 5-7pm (Cheadle Campus)
Thursday 27 September 5-7pm (Marple Campus)
Saturday 13 October at both sites 10am – 12.00pm

UTC Media City
Thursday 27th September 6.30 – 8.30pm

Xaverian College
Saturday 6th October 10.30 – 2pm
Sunday 14th October 10.30 – 2pm

School Sixth Forms

Cheadle Hulme High Sixth Form
Thursday 8th November (Please check their website for timings, not currently available)

Hazel Grove High Sixth Form
Wednesday 17th October 5pm-8pm (Presentation at 6:30pm)

Parrs Wood High Sixth Form
Saturday 13th October 2018 10.00am – 12.00pm

Stockport Grammar School
Tuesday 16th October 7.00pm

Wilmslow Sixth Form
Thursday 8th November 6.00 – 8pm

Scroll to top